Global Peace Index 2018 — press coverage update

The Global Peace Index 2018 launched last week, receiving press and media coverage in over 140 countries — here is just some of the key press coverage.

  1. BBC Newsday: https://www.bbc.co.uk/radio/player/w172w1fjg6m7t8s (clip begins at 34:35)
  2. BBC Victoria Derbyshire: https://www.bbc.co.uk/iplayer/episode/b0b5hh33/victoria-derbyshire-06062018 (begins at 45:00)
  3. Forbes: https://www.forbes.com/sites/niallmccarthy/2018/06/06/the-most-and-least-peaceful-countries-worldwide-infographic/#657f22f73d0b
  4. The I (The Independent; print and online): https://inews.co.uk/news/world-peace-lowest-for-a-decade-with-uk-among-countries-doing-worse-study/
  5. Reuters: http://news.trust.org/item/20180606040030-aqswv/
  6. Reuters Africa: https://af.reuters.com/article/commoditiesNews/idAFL5N1T71TP
  7. Bloomberg: https://www.bloomberg.com/news/articles/2018-06-06/refugees-now-make-up-1-of-world-population-peace-index-shows
  8. Washington Times: https://www.washingtontimes.com/news/2018/jun/6/uneasy-times-us-now-ranked-as-the-114th-most-peace/
  9. U.S. News & World Report: https://www.usnews.com/news/best-countries/articles/2018-06-06/global-peace-index-world-peace-deteriorates-partisanship-damages-us-score
  10. The Daily Express: https://www.express.co.uk/news/world/970114/World-war-3-Syria-conflict-South-Sudan-Middle-East-world-less-peaceful-IEP-report
  11. The Daily Express: https://www.express.co.uk/news/world/970363/Spain-news-Global-Peace-Index-Mariano-Rajoy-updates-world-peace
  12. Deutsche Welle: http://www.dw.com/de/der-unfrieden-w%C3%A4chst/a-44084495
  13. Deutsche Welle (English): http://www.dw.com/en/global-conflict-continues-to-rise-index-shows/a-44090159
  14. Gulf News: https://gulfnews.com/news/uae/society/uae-climbs-12-spots-in-world-peace-rankings-1.2232277
  15. Asian Correspondent: https://asiancorrespondent.com/2018/06/global-peace-index-2018-asia/
  16. La Vanguardia: http://www.lavanguardia.com/vida/20180606/444137189425/comunicado-global-peace-index-hay-menos-paz-hoy-que-en-cualquier-momento-de-la-ultima-decada-1.html
  17. El Mundo: http://www.elmundo.es/espana/2018/06/06/5b176232468aebfd348b45da.html
  18. El Nacional: https://www.elnacional.cat/ca/politica/espanya-repressio-catalunya-espanyolisme-global-peace-index_275571_102.html
  19. Zeit: https://www.zeit.de/politik/ausland/2018-06/global-peace-index-weltfriedenslage-krieg-fluechtlinge-verschlechterung
  20. Die Welt: https://www.welt.de/politik/ausland/article177054334/Wie-friedlich-ist-es-auf-der-Welt.html
  21. De Morgen: https://www.demorgen.be/buitenland/wereld-een-pak-minder-vredevol-dan-tien-jaar-geleden-b6361fbf/
  22. South China Morning Post: http://www.scmp.com/news/world/middle-east/article/2149497/world-less-peaceful-decade-ago-and-trillions-dollars-poorer
  23. Sydsvenskan: https://www.sydsvenskan.se/2018-06-06/varlden-mindre-fredlig-an-pa-tio-ar
  24. TASS: http://tass.ru/obschestvo/5266957
  25. The National: https://www.thenational.ae/uae/uae-climbs-higher-on-global-peace-index-1.737518
  26. Arabian Business: http://www.arabianbusiness.com/politics-economics/398320-uae-jumps-in-annual-peace-index-despite-global-downturn
  27. India Today: https://www.indiatoday.in/pti-feed/story/india-moves-one-notch-up-to-136th-place-in-global-peace-index-1252180-2018-06-06
  28. All Africa: http://allafrica.com/stories/201806060506.html
  29. Daily Mirror: https://www.mirror.co.uk/news/uk-news/britain-falls-global-peace-rankings-12657176
  30. HuffingtonPost.de: https://www.huffingtonpost.de/entry/global-peace-index-island_de_5b17edf5e4b0734a9939b497?utm_hp_ref=de-good
  31. Focus Online: https://www.focus.de/politik/ausland/globaler-friedensindex-global-peace-index-zeigt-frieden-auf-der-welt-wird-immer-bruechiger_id_9045935.html
  32. Der Tagesspiegel: https://www.tagesspiegel.de/meinung/umstrittene-abschiebungen-sicherheit-ist-in-afghanistan-eine-illusion/22653976.html
  33. Al Khaleej: https://www.khaleejtimes.com/international/world-less-peaceful-than-a-decade-ago-global-index
  34. El Economista: https://www.eleconomista.com.mx/internacionales/Islandia-el-pais-mas-pacifico-del-mundo-20180606-0146.html
  35. ABC.es: http://agencias.abc.es/agencias/noticia.asp?noticia=2836520&titulo=E
  36. Financial Express: https://www.financialexpress.com/india-news/india-moves-one-notch-up-to-136th-place-in-global-peace-index/1196048/
  37. The Sun (Nigeria): https://sunnewsonline.com/nigeria-is-16th-least-peaceful-country-in-the-world-study/

Vision of Humanity

Editorial Staff

Vision of Humanity is brought to you by the Institute for Economics and Peace (IEP), by staff in our global offices in Sydney, New York, The Hague and Mexico. Alongside maps and global indexes, we present fresh perspectives on current affairs reflecting our editorial philosophy.

RELATED RESOURCES

RELATED RESOURCES

Close